Our Organization

The Bible teaches that the Church of God is a spiritual body of believers led by God’s Spirit (1 Corinthians 3:16; Ephesians 4:3-5; Romans 8:9, 16). Each member has a part to play in the work of the Church, as do the parts of the human body (1 Corinthians 12:12-14). As we yield to God’s divine leadership, we collectively grow “into a holy temple in the Lord” (Ephesians 2:21).

The Bible also teaches that Jesus Christ is the Head of His Church; and as the spiritual leader, He guides and directs His Church throughout all ages (Colossians 1:18). He has also provided human leadership for the Church since the time He walked the earth. “And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ, till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ” (Ephesians 4:11-13).

The leadership of Christ and the teachable attitude of the ministry and membership are essential to accomplish the preaching of the gospel, caring for congregations and general running of the Church. Within the Church of God, a Worldwide Association, a seven-member Ministerial Board of Directors, which is appointed by the ministry, selects the president and other corporate officers and approves operation managers suggested by the president. Although not directly involved in day-to-day affairs, it serves as an advisory body to the administration.

The president and operation managers are responsible for the everyday activities of the Church in the United States and assist and guide the leadership and congregations in international areas. The president, who is appointed for a renewable seven-year term, serves as spokesman for the Church and provides leadership within the Church throughout the world.

In addition to the administration, a five-member Doctrine Committee serves the Church by reviewing material that will be published for doctrinal accuracy and resolving doctrinal questions. A five-member Moral and Ethics Assessment Committee is appointed to act as a self-regulatory body to maintain appropriate standards in the Church.

This organizational structure was established by the ministry of the Church of God, a Worldwide Association, to serve members and to provide a means by which the Church can fulfill its biblical commission and follow the biblical command in 1 Corinthians 14:40 to “let all things be done decently and in order.”

Jim Franks, President
Doug Horchak, Ministerial Services Operation Manager
Clyde Kilough, Media Operation Manager
Britton Taylor, Financial Operation Manager

Ministerial Board of Directors
David Baker
Arnold Hampton
Joel Meeker, Chairman
Larry Salyer
Richard Thompson
Leon Walker
Lyle Welty

Doctrine Committee
John Foster
Bruce Gore
Don Henson, Chairman
Doug Johnson
Larry Neff

Moral and Ethics Assessment Committee
Mike Blackwell
Ken Giese
Mike Hanisko
Steve Moody
Paul Suckling, Chairman


COGWA Member Login

Create an Account